“Ritmo-Canix” wins the Lennon Award!!!

What a journey!

Last May, about this time in fact, I submitted my song “Ritmo-Canix” (from my latest album LEVANTO) to the John Lennon Songwriting Contest.

And then…

Promptly forgot about it.

Was it intentional? I actually think, YES! As a professional musician I have created, out of what I believe to be necessity, a tortoise shell of protection for myself so that I won’t get my hopes up too high for any given opportunity. I can’t tell you how many times in my career I’ve heard:
This person knows so and so, and they really like your music and are going to get you a record deal
or
This gig doesn’t pay anything but it will provide you tons of exposure
or…
well, you get the idea.

I’m not saying that the people who have told me these things throughout the years were insincere. I have no doubt they had the best of intentions. However, because of the nature of the game, it’s just so rare that any of these things actually do happen the way you think they’re going to happen.

So, when I received the letter from the John Lennon Songwriting Contest in September that “Ritmo-Canix” had actually WON the Grand Prize in the John Lennon Songwriting Contest World Music Category…well, I was freakin’ stunned right out of my safe little tortoise shell!!!

Honestly, as you get further in the business of music, it gets harder to stick your head out of your shell and risk your neck. However, I am starting to realize that it’s that much MORE important every day that goes by.

I have to GO BIG! If not now, when??

I feel so fortunate that I have the amazing fans that I do, and because of their support and their votes “Ritmo-Canix” was the recipient of the Lennon Award in the World Category on May 1st, 2011.

This has been such a lesson in “going-for-it” for me. I’ve stretched my neck out further this past year than I have in my entire career and I have been rewarded by the universe for my efforts. I am going to take that as a sign that I need to continue to stretch.

I know this tortoise is going to win the race!

I’m going to continue to search for ways to GO BIG. I hope you do too! We only get one run at this. This isn’t a “trial run” we’re on right now. This is THE REAL DEAL! Are you in it to win it?

Your amigo,
Chris Burton Jácome
www.chrisburtonjacome.com

About Chris B. Jácome (CBJ Music)

Chris B. Jácome is a Flamenco Guitarist & Composer. In between concerts and tours as Artistic Director for Jácome Flamenco, he enjoys training in his top secret flamenco ninja lair. 1. Yes, the flamenco ninja lair is awesome! 2. You will know when you're invited.
This entry was posted in Concert, Flamenco, Guitar, Music, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

